ⓘ National nature reserves in Cumbria. National nature reserves in England were established by English Nature, now Natural England, which manages them either dire ..


ⓘ National nature reserves in Cumbria

National nature reserves in England were established by English Nature, now Natural England, which manages them either directly or through non-governmental organisations such as the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds or the National Trust.

There are 25 national nature reserves in Cumbria, including the large Moor House-Upper Teesdale reserve which is shared with County Durham.

All national nature reserves include all or part of a named Site of Special Scientific Interest SSSI. Moor House-Upper Teesdale is also a Biosphere reserve.


1. Types of habitat

  • Wetlands

A number of the reserves are bogs often called "moss" in local dialect, a type of habit which the European Union is keen to protect.Bassenthwaite Lake, one of the largest lakes in the English Lake District, is a habitat for the Osprey.

  • Limestone pavements

Whitbarrow and Park Wood are limestone habitats.


2. List

  • Hallsenna Moor
  • Roudsea Wood & Mosses
  • North Fen
  • Thornhill Moss and Meadows
  • Bassenthwaite Lake
  • Tarn Moss
  • Drumburgh Moss
  • North Walney
  • South Solway Mosses
  • Smardale Gill
  • Park Wood
  • Whitbarrow
  • Blelham Bog
  • Gowk Bank
  • Walton Moss
  • Great Asby Scar
  • High Leys
  • Sandybeck Meadow
  • Rusland Moss
  • Moor House-Upper Teesdale
  • Clawthorpe Fell
  • Sandscale Haws
  • Duddon Mosses
  • Cliburn Moss
  • Finglandrigg Woods
  • Cumbria Constabulary is the territorial police force in England covering Cumbria As of September 2017, the force had 1, 108 police officers, 535 police
  • situated in the civil parish of Drigg and Carleton on the West Cumbria coast of the Irish Sea and on the boundary of the Lake District National Park in the
  • Ingleborough, 19 km 12 miles to the east. Hutton Roof National Nature Reserve is managed by the Cumbria Wildlife Trust, which leases Park Wood and Hutton
  • Whitbarrow is a hill in Cumbria England. Designated a biological Site of Special Scientific Interest and national nature reserve it forms part of the
  • Wildlife Trusts in the United Kingdom, the Isle of Man and Alderney. The Wildlife Trusts, between them, look after around 2, 300 nature reserves covering more
  • House - Upper Teesdale National Nature Reserve covers 7, 400 ha of the Pennine moors in the north of England. It straddles Cumbria and County Durham. It
  • site was designated an SAC in 2005. The bogs were already individually protected as nature reserves in the care of Cumbria Wildlife Trust and, under UK
  • under the Birds Directive. There is a separate nature reserve at South Walney, managed by the Cumbria Wildlife Trust, notable for its gulls. May. Walney
  • Cleator ˈkliːtər is a village in the English county of Cumbria and within the boundaries of the historic county of Cumberland. Cleator is 1½ miles south
  • south east of Rowrah in Cumbria map along the C2C cycle route prior to Sheriffs Gate. The status of National Nature Reserve was awarded to High Leys

Users also searched: