ⓘ Freq, album. Freq is a 1985 album by English singer and musician Robert Calvert. It was recorded during the time of the UK miners strike 1984-1985 and in betwee ..

Freq (album)

ⓘ Freq (album)

Freq is a 1985 album by English singer and musician Robert Calvert.

It was recorded during the time of the UK miners strike 1984-1985 and in between the songs it features snippets of field recordings by Calvert with miners on a picket line, with Calvert displaying his sympathy for their cause.

The lyrics cover various themes, only "All the Machines are Quiet" and "Picket Line" being explicitly concerned with the miners strike. "Ned Ludd" is a reworking of a track which was originally part of his stage play The Kid from Silicon Gulch ; taking its name from Ned Ludd who inspired the luddite movement in 1811, it deals with Calverts ambivalent attitude to the impact of new technologies on peoples lives.

The music saw a movement away from his previous work as a frontman of a rock group towards a minimalist electronic sound.

The tracks "Lord of the Hornets" and "The Greenfly and the Rose" were recorded as demos in preparation for Calverts Hype album, but they were issued as a single by Flicknife Records FLS204 in 1980. The band used for this session is a unique combination of former Hawkwind members, except for Gary Cooper who was Calverts literary agent at the time.


1. Track listing

All titles written by Robert Calvert.

Side 1

  • "All The Machines Are Quiet" – 5:33
  • "Ned Ludd" – 4:57
  • talk – 2:37
  • "Acid Rain" – 5:06
  • talk – 1:31

Side 2

  • "Picket Line" – 3:27
  • "The Cool Courage of the Bomb Squad Officers" – 5:21
  • talk – 1:06
  • "Work Song" – 3:54
  • talk – 1:12

Bonus tracks

  • "Lord of the Hornets" – 3:52
  • "The Greenfly and the Rose" – 3:39

2. Personnel

Original album

  • PG Martin – Guitars
  • Jill Riches – Keyboards, vocals
  • Robert Calvert – Guitar, Harmonica, Percussion, Keyboards, Vocals, Producer
  • Ray Davis – Programming

Bonus tracks

  • Simon King – Drums
  • Lemmy – Bass on "Lord of the Hornets"
  • Huw Lloyd-Langton – Guitar
  • Gary Cooper – Bass on "The Greenfly and the Rose"
  • Steve Swindells – Keyboards
  • Robert Calvert – Vocals

3. Release history

  • June 1994: US, Cleopatra Records CLEO 9467-2, CD with bonus tracks
  • January 1985: UK, Flicknife Records SHARP 021, vinyl
  • June 1992: UK, Anagram Records CDMGRAM55, CD with bonus tracks
  • Nice Dream - Matthew Herbert featuring Mara Carlyle Blow Out - LO Freq The National Anthem - Me Shell Ndegeocello Chris Dave Karma Police
  • Matrix Records, 2009 album Rebound EP with Rob Belleville aDepth audio, 2012 single Detroit City EP Modelhart, 2013 single As Freq Plastique Generator
  • Receiving positive reviews the album was originally released as a CD in October 1992. The artwork was designed by Freq Form with photography by Peter
  • time included big beat scene leaders Fatboy Slim, Hardknox, Indian Ropeman, Freq Nasty and X - Press 2. Towards the end of the 1990s and at the start of the
  • success, Kingdom Come s 1973 album Journey has received generally positive retrospective reviews from critics. Alan Holmes of Freq said that Journey was so
  • of Rip It Freak disambiguation Freeek a 2002 song by George Michael Freq disambiguation Phreaking Phreek All pages with titles containing Freek
  • disambiguation Freex, a 1993 Malibu Comics series Freke disambiguation Freq disambiguation Phreaking, a subculture of people who study, experiment
  • additional vocals by Daft Punk Lost Queen is followed by the hidden track Freq which features uncredited vocals from JoJo Pharrell Williams  lead vocals
  • Ferdie Marquez Freq Studio Celebrity Gallery - Keith Martin Archived 2008 - 04 - 20 at the Wayback Machine Yuki Koyanagi s Frech site Album information on
  • Current 93 Nurse With Wound live at The Shepherds Bush Empire Freq freq Retrieved 29 August 2019. Shirley Collins Roundhouse, London

Users also searched: