ⓘ A Taste for Death, James novel. A Taste for Death is a 1986 crime novel by the British writer P. D. James, the seventh in the popular Commander Adam Dalgliesh s ..

A Taste for Death (James novel)

ⓘ A Taste for Death (James novel)

A Taste for Death is a 1986 crime novel by the British writer P. D. James, the seventh in the popular Commander Adam Dalgliesh series. The novel won the Silver Dagger in 1986, losing out on the Gold to Ruth Rendells Live Flesh. It was nominated for a Booker Prize in 1987. The book has been adapted for television and radio.


1. Plot summary

In the dingy vestry of St. Matthews Church, Paddington, two bodies have been found with their throats slashed. One is an alcoholic vagrant, whereas the other is Sir Paul Berowne, a baronet and recently resigned Minister of the Crown. Poet and Commander Adam Dalgliesh investigates one of the most convoluted cases of his career.


2. Reception

In a 1986 book review for The New York Times, Robert B. Parker wrote the book is "graced by one of the most felicitous prose styles I know. Ms. James is simply a wonderful writer." The Sunday Times called it "A cunningly compulsive work. heart-pounding suspense". In a 1986 piece on James by Julian Symons, he notes A Taste for Death "is the longest, most ambitious and the best of Phyllis Jamess 10 novels."


3. Adaptations

A television version of the novel was produced for Britains ITV network in 1988. It starred Roy Marsden as Adam Dalgliesh and Wendy Hiller as Lady Barone.

  • A Taste for Death may refer to: A Taste for Death P. D. James novel a 1986 mystery novel by P. D. James A Taste for Death Modesty Blaise a 1969 Modesty
  • June 1, 1934 - August 8, 2002 When Doris Smith set out to find a publisher for A Taste of Blackberries what she found instead was rejection. Editors believed
  • fame for her series of detective novels starring police commander and poet Adam Dalgliesh. James was born in Oxford, the daughter of Sidney James a tax
  • The James Bond series focuses on a fictional British Secret Service agent created in 1953 by writer Ian Fleming, who featured him in twelve novels and
  • Cordelia in A Taste for Death All of James s novels featuring Adam Dalgliesh up to and including The Murder Room have been adapted for television, beginning
  • Death of an Expert Witness is an Adam Dalgliesh novel by P. D. James published in 1977. It begins with the discovery of a murder by a young girl. However
  • James II 16 October 1430 3 August 1460 was a member of the House of Stewart who reigned as King of Scotland from 1437 until his death James was born
  • 48 is a 1996 alternative history novel by British horror author James Herbert. The book follows an American pilot stranded in a dystopian London after
  • A Morbid Taste for Bones is a medieval mystery novel by Ellis Peters set in May 1137. It is the first novel in The Cadfael Chronicles, first published
  • A novel is a relatively long work of narrative fiction, normally written in prose form, and which is typically published as a book. The present English